Proverbs 14:21 (The Golden Rule)

18 Aug

It is a sin to hate your brother, but being kind to the needy brings happiness.” (New Century Version)

First off, I would like to apologize to my readers for the long delay in writing.  My work and life itself this past year or so has made it almost impossible to sit down and put out Bible studies like I have in times past.  Hopefully this will all soon change and I will be able to put out a verse or so a week with full in-depth analysis and commentary, etc.  Recently I was in the hospital and the Lord graciously opened my eyes to a number of time honored and sacred scriptures.  I hope they bless you as much as they did for me.  I did not have my dictionaries and lexicons, etc to help me yet I know the Lord was with me as I studied these verses.  Yet with my knowledge of the ancient languages I was still able to come up with some interesting takes on what I had read and yes fed upon.  Saying that, I do not have a word by word breakdown (at this point) of the verses I studied, but what I do have is fresh insight which is what part of this website was created for – my interpenetration according to my knowledge of the Word and for the ancient Languages themselves. Enough said -now for the good part…lol!

“It is a sin to hate your brother…”  A few years back I was studying the New Testament and one word that stuck with me especially was the Greek word “makarios.”   The English translation is the word hate, but that is not at all what the Greek implies.  Oh how I love the fact that I had taken to the time as a young missionary to teach myself the real and unadulterated Word of God!  I do not have my books and dictionaries in front of me but one thing I do know for sure is that this word means so much more than what the English word implies.  The Greek definition for this word literally means to love less (i.e. than something or someone else)… think about that for a moment – what a perfect description and what a sound moral lesson!  What Jesus was saying in the beatitudes, etc was that anyone who loves his brother less than he loves himself – the same is a liar and that God’s word isn’t in him.  Wow.  Taking that for the premise of my interpretation of this proverb let us go back to the scripture at hand.

It is a sin to hate (makarios/love less than yourself) your brother.  This makes all the difference in the world!  What exactly is hate – what is love – the Bible clearly defines it for us.  To love someone else less or to care about someone less than you would do for yourself is a sin – in fact the very sin upon which all other sins (between two people) are based.  To love someone or something less than you would love yourself (our example being Christ and his unquenchable love for us) is in God’s sight a hate crime and a sin against humanity.  Let us now proceed to the second part of this wonderful verse.

“… but being kind to the needy brings happiness.”

The Hebrew word for kind here means to bend… thus bending your will for the betterment of others.  In other words, treating others like yourself (how you would want to be treated), i.e. the “Golden” Rule.

Therefore: “To love yourself more than your neighbor is in direct opposition to the will of God, but to help somebody brings happiness.”

Leave a Reply

