Psalms 3

25 Jul

I have hit a very low point in my life recently… This psalm encouraged me alot… Here is some simple hebrew…

A Psalm of David, when he fled from Absalom his son.


Lord, how are they increased that trouble me!

many are they that rise up against me.

Many there be which say of my soul,

There is no help for him in God. Selah.

But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me;

my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

I cried unto the Lord with my voice,

and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

I laid me down and slept;

I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people,

that have set themselves against me round about.

Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God:

for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone;

thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

Salvation belongeth unto the Lord:

thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

Psalm of David, when he fled from Absalom his son…

The first thing we see is a man who was deeply loved by God running from a son who was trying to destroy his life and take over the kingdom.  How can this be?  A man of God running from his seed?  As we can see not everything is a bed of roses when you are a child of God.  David had is problems and his faults like we all do.  What made him special his that he kept his heart soft and kept his wits about him even in the most desperate of times.   He knew instinctively to turn toward God not away from him and thus he is blessed as seen in this psalm.  We need to keep this in mind when reading this passage of text.  Let us continue…

  Lord, how are they increased that trouble me!
many are they that rise up against me.

Do you ever feel like this?  Remember, David was facing an army set out to destroy his life!  We only need to study this passage of scripture to see that all things work together for good that trust God and are called according to his purposes…

Let us continue…

Many there be which say of my soul,
There is no help for him in God. Selah.

Not only was David undoubtedly panic stricken but this terrible turn of events, for His son had violated all morals, manners and precepts; but he had his own people telling him all hope was lost.  Satan often comes in forms of gossip, trying to ruin a life by the words that come against it.   That is why Jesus said, If you cause even a little (perhaps new) believer to go astray, it would be better for you to hang yourself…  Enough said!  The Hebrew word for “many” is “rab” see below… (sorry… Im working from my smart phone)

TWOT – 2099a,2099b
רַב rab
rab
Hebrew
and means abundant in quantity, size, age, rank, etc… Thus we can see Davids troubles more clearly.

The Hebrew word for “help” is yshuw’ah (again see below)

03444
TWOT – 929b
יְשׁוּעָה yshuw`ah
Noun Feminine yesh-oo‘-aw
Hebrew

which comes from the Hebrew word “yasha” and means deliverence, prosperity, victory, health, and salvation… In other words “David, your time has run out with God, you might as well give up now!  David knew better, and thus salvation, and comfort and deliverence did come, all in God’s perfect timing.  David, a man after God’s own heart was not left out to dry… Like a camel with out water… Amazing!

Note… Did you happen to catch the Hebrew word for help?  His name is Jesus, in english, Yaysoos in Greek and yashu’aw in Hebrew… Jesus Christ!

May God bless you, my beloved…

John  

 

 

 

One Response to “Psalms 3”

  1. jbutzu September 10, 2016 at 6:46 pm #

    Just a quick update… God is so good…
    Jesus has made it up to me…
    I found a beautiful wife…
    Her name is sophie…
    Love John 🙂

Leave a Reply

